Pune Election Results – Final Vote Count

The final vote count for the Pune Loksabha election is now available. Sitting MP, Suresh Kalmadi of the Congress has managed to retain the Pune seat by a margin of about 25000 votes.

  1. Kalmadi Suresh (Winner)     INC     279897 votes
  2. Anil Shirole     BJP     254150 votes
  3. Shirole Ranjeet Shrikant     MNS     75885 votes
  4. D S K Alias D.s.kulkarni     BSP     62963 votes
  5. Arun Bhatia     PG     30329 votes Read more

Pune Election Result – Congress Kalmadi Leads

2:46 pm Update – Kalmadi leds over Shirole by 24158

2:15 pm Update – Kalmadi leds over Shirole by 21525

1:29 pm Update – Suresh Kalmadi from the Indian National Congress leads by 19410 from BJP’s Anil Shirole as on 1.29 pm on 16th May 09.  Counting is still in progress. Read more

India Election Results – Election Commission Website Links

The results of Indian General Elections will be available on the Election Commission Of India site http://eciresults.nic.in/ from 8 am on 16th May 2009. Certain pages of the site are already throwing server runtime errors, so it looks unlikely that the site will survive the hammering it will get through counting day tomorrow.

I am expecting the server running the site homepage to crumble under the load, so am listing internal site URLs below. Hopefully some of the links below will work tomorrow. Read more

India Loksabha Election Results 2009 : Exit Polls Summary

16 May 09 Update:


Below is a summary of exit poll predictions for India Election Results 2009. However looking at the dismal record of opinion and exit polls in India, we need to look at these numbers more as entertainment than information. Can’t really blame the pollsters as conducting representative sample polls in a country of the size and diversity of India seems almost like an impossible task. Read more